Tuesday, December 21, 2010

NCQA Recognition Programs and the Medicare (CMS) Physicians Quality Reporting Initiative

The Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) designated three NCQA Recognition Programs as registries for quality reporting for the purposes of the Physician Quality Reporting Initiative (PQRI). Providers participating in Medicare's PQRI program receive financial rewards for collecting and reporting practice data about the quality of their care as well as being recognized for their superb care. In 2010, the reward is equal to 2 percent of total allowed Medicare Part B charges for services furnished during 2010.

Clinicians, who have earned Recognition from NCQA through the Diabetes Recognition Program (DRP), the Heart Stroke Recogniton Program (HSRP) or the Back Pain Recognition Program (BPRP), can have NCQA submit their clinical quality data to CMS. To qualify, Recognized clinicians must submit their PQRI qualifying data to NCQA by December 31, 2010.

NCQA is also providing clinicians who are currently applying for or
considering applying for NCQA's DRP, HSRP or BPRP program with submission of their qualifying data to 2010 PQRI registry as an added feature to the Recognition Process.

Make the Most of Your NCQA Recognition!

• For more information about NCQA's PQRI Program,
visit www.ncqa.org/Recognition

• For more information about DRP,
visit www.ncqa.org/drp

• For more information about HSRP,
visit www.ncqa.org/hsrp

• For more information about BPRP,
visit http://www.ncqa.org/bprp

For more information, including instructions and frequently asked questions, visit NCQA at www.ncqa.org/Recognition

No comments: